The Touro Infirmary Foundation

Silver Scope Soiree

Dr. Murrel H. Kaplan was Chief of Internal Medicine at Touro from 1957-1962 and served his patients, and the hospital, with distinction as a member of the medical staff for 50 years. The Kaplan Compassionate Physician Award is given annually to an active physician affiliated with Touro Infirmary who demonstrates the characteristics of compassion and caring for which Dr. Kaplan was so highly esteemed.

We are excited to announce the 2020 Honoree is Robert Occhipinti, M.D. Dr. Occhipinti has shown the utmost compassion to his patients and will be recognized for his dedication to the values Dr. Kaplan exemplified.

View 2019 Silver Scope Soiree Event Photos

Kaplan Compassionate Physician Award logo

Questions? Contact the Foundation at or 504-897-8435.